Tags

,

Big goals are hard for me. Write a novel. Create a proposal for a non-fiction book. Edit an anthology.

Small goals? Easier. Write a short story. Create a blog entry. Edit a poem.

It seems like the easy way to accomplish big goals would be to break them into little parts. Write a chapter. Create a character. Edit a scene.

But even that is scary to me. Because there are so many pieces. So many ways to screw each one up. I’m sure I used to think that way about short stories too. But it’s been years, and I’ve forgotten how scary they were.

So, I’m breaking down my big goals. Bit by bit, taking them apart to see what they’re made of. I’m just thinking out loud here. I’m a multi-tasker, must have many projects going at the same time. So it’s not like I can say, “finish novel 1 and then move on.” No. I’ll had to do them all at once. Go through the processes together. Because that’s just the way I’m built.

Next post: Big goals will be broken down into January Do-ables. I hope.

