Tags

,

Welcome!

If you’ve gotten here by either my blog or my website, you likely know me as a writer of short stories, poems and the occasional novella. Maybe you think of me as an erotica writer. Maybe you think of me as a teacher, or a student. Or maybe you just happened here by accident, and you don’t know any of those things about me.

What you’ll find here is hope, inspiration, determination, fear, struggle and joy. How is that possible? Because this blog is going to chronicle a very scary, very important part of my writing career: making the transition from short works to long ones.

Since I was little, I knew I wanted to be a writer, and at the time, that meant books. I didn’t know that there were other options then, even though I wrote poems and stories. Then, I started to make a career out of writing, and I realized that there were many ways to be a writer: articles, essays, short stories, columns, poems and more. I’ve written them all over the past few years. And I’ve had some success, particularly with articles, short stories and poems.

I love writing short pieces. Love it. And yet, something keeps pulling me toward books and novels. At the same time, something keeps pulling me away. My interior writer voice keeps asking, “Why write novels when I love writing short work and I get paid for it?” And so I write more short pieces and the novels and books sit on my mental shelves gathering dust.

Thus, this blog, and this year, have been designated for the Year of the Books. I’m going to do the scariest thing–to put my “short work career” on semi-hold for the year while I focus on longer works. It’s scary not just because it might kill my short work career, but because it might also prove that I don’t have what it takes to write long work.

But there’s only one way to find out. I’m going to tackle the thing that scares me the most, and I’m going to do it here on this blog. I’m setting goals, keeping track and generally going to cheer and rant and cry as I struggle through the whole book-writing process. Why? So that I can feel less alone. So that I can share the experience with others who might be struggling with something similar. So that we can learn from each other and support each other in our writing endeavors, whatever they are.

I hope you’ll join me as I move forward. I’m expecting it to be a long, bumpy ride, but one that has the potential to take us to the most wonderful and unexpected places…

