Tags

, , ,

Well, it kind of worked. Which was about what I expected. So far, so good.

The plan, and how it’s panning out:

  • 1 hour proposals: Totally working. I can get a lot done, and I feel good about it at the end of the hour. The easy parts of my first proposal are almost finished, which means I’ll be moving into the hard parts (describing the book) in the next few days.
  • 1 hour novel: Also working. This, again, means that I’m getting a little bit done each day, and it’s work I feel good about.
  • No more than 1 hour email: This is kicking my butt. I have way more than an hour of email to tackle every day. Ugh.
  • 1 hour creative: Also, working.
  • 4 hours freelance/teaching/meetings, etc: Ditto. I can get a lot done in four hours — one thing I realized last year while keeping track of my hours for clients who like to be billed that way is that I’m very productive when I’m “on the clock.” I don’t want to waste client’s money, or my time. On the other hand, when I’m working on something that pays by the word or the piece, I tend to piddle. No, not like on the floor, like on the Internet. I do more research then I need to, I follow rabbit holes deep into the web world, and I get stuck. So, hourly. Works for me.

So, you say, almost seems to be working. What’s the problem then? The problem is two-fold. One, I just don’t have this much brain power. All of these things on my list, with the exception of most emails, take a lot of brain power. I’m done after about 5 hours. I’m going strong now, but it’s not doable for very long. And two, I don’t have that much time in the day. I “forgot” how much time I spend doing other work things, like getting to meetings, doing financial stuff, even buying office supplies. I don’t want to lump that into freelance, because by freelance, I do mean “freelance writing/editing/teaching/etc.” Not freelance business stuff.

So, I’m going to have to kill some of my darlings and make my workday a wee bit shorter, I do believe. (I refuse to give email any more time than it’s already getting, so I’ve to to find a way to do that…) The plan is for six hours of serious brain power, plus two hours of all the other things I do in a day, like meetings, planning, going to the post office, blogging, etc.

January Goals, Take 2:

  • 1/2 hour proposals
  • 1 hour novel
  • 1 hour email (no more)
  • 1/2 hour creative
  • 3 hours freelance writing

We’ll see how it works!

Best, s.

p.s. Do you guys plan your days this way? Am I a freak? Yes, I know I have project management tendencies and probably a bit of OCD/anal/something-or-other, but it does make me feel better to have a plan of some sort. How do you guys do it?

