I’m off. Off my rocker. Off the scale. Out of my head. Out of my element. Out of here. Yep, it’s been that kind of week month year. I’ll be back (at least from my upcoming trip to D.C.) on Monday of next week. Who knows when I’ll be back in my right mind?

bae.jpgHopefully before Monday, February 18, when Susie Bright comes to Powell’s to read from Best American Erotica 2008, because I’m seriously looking forward to it. Not just hearing her read, but getting to meet her and spend time with her. She sent me an email asking if I was going to be there, which makes me squee! more than I can even tell you.

Also, if you’re in need of something to do later that week, please do come and hear me read at Barnes & Noble for Sage Cohen’s amazing poetry series. It’s going to be a real treat.

Barnes & Noble Reading Series: February 20

You won’t want to miss Kristy Athens, Shanna Germain and Lara Triback reading at the Barnes & Noble Lloyd Center Reading Series!

When: Wednesday, February 20, 7:00 p.m.

Where:
Barnes & Noble
1317 Lloyd Center // Gift section
Portland, OR 97232
503-249-0800

Who:

Kristy Athens is a freelance writer and editor who writes short-short fiction from a small farm near Husum, Washington. She has been a visiting writer at Hood River Community Education, Mt. Hood Community College, Write Around Portland and Writers in the Schools, and served on the boards of Northwest Writers, Inc. and the Independent Publishing Resource Center. From 1999 to 2006, she ran the Oregon Book Awards and Oregon Literary Fellowships programs of Literary Arts. Her work has been published in a number of magazines, newspapers and literary journals, including Poor Mojo’s Alamanc(k) and forthcoming in Two Gyrlz Quarterly.

Shanna Germain is a poet by nature, a short story writer by the skin of her teeth, and a novelist in training. Except for writing, drinking mochas and laughing too loudly in public places, she has no real talents. Her writing has appeared in places like Absinthe Literary Review, Best American Erotica, Tipton Poetry Review, VoiceCatcher and Salon.

Lara Triback spent six months in Buenos Aires, Argentina immersed in the tango subculture on a personal quest for connection, ecstasy, adventure, and “the perfect dance.” Her essay, “Three Minutes of Freedom,” a tribute to her tango journey, appears in Go Your Own Way, an anthology of writings by solo women travelers, published by Seal Press. Her story illuminates why tango, once it gets in the blood, can be as relentless, rich, humbling and beautiful as falling in love.

