Tags

, , , , , ,

Someday, I’m going to publish a memoir with that title. I think it could be a big hit.

I did spend the evening with Susie Bright (although night has the proper rhyming ring to it that I love). It was last evening to be exact. Susie read at Powell’s Books from Best American Erotica 2008. She can read like a mo-fo. She tells amazing stories. She is sexy and whip-smart and also gracious and real and kind and completely ego-less. I’ve never met anyone else in my life who has done so incredibly much to change the world and still makes sure that everyone around her is comfortable and included.

After her reading, we went back to her hotel. Let me set the scene: The Heathman in Portland. Me. Susie Bright. Cass King and John Woods, the amazing musical sex comedy duo who make up The Wet Spots. (By the way, you must go check them out. Right now). Coffee and drinks and locally made ice cream on the table. All of us in our bare feet, talking about life, love, sex, writing, artistry and travel. It might have been one of the highlights of my life so far.

I’m not sure how I am so blessed to be in the company of people who truly inspire me and ignite me so often. It truly is one of the great joys of my life, and I’m just so so so grateful.

Another person who truly inspires me and ignites me is Gina Daggett of Lipstick & Dipstick. We’re kindred spirits in more ways than I can say and I love to spend time with her whenever I can, which isn’t very often considering our schedules. However, this morning, we got together to tape a program thanks to the kind offer of Jeff at Writers’ Dojo and the recording studio at Rexpost — it was a total blast. We talked about writing, publishing, coming out of the closet (and the various ways that we do that again and again as people), how we met…and so much more. We could have talked forever, but we only had 45 minutes, so we tried to keep ourselves in check! It was a joy to see Gina and to work with Jeff and to be inspired once again.

It’s been a busy couple of days. It won’t let up for a few more: tonight I teach my genre class and then take my poetry class, and tomorrow is the poetry reading at Barnes & Nobles. More and more inspiration every moment. After that, I’m hoping for the chance to become a homebody for a few days; to take all this great energy and inspiration and turn it into something wonderful and creative…

