Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes, I’m just like Alison Tyler. Okay, really, I’m not like her at all, although I wish I was in lots of ways. But I am like her in that I’m seriously superstitious. If someone says, “I’d love to accept your story for my book!” I never quite believe them. Sometimes I’ll have both check and contract in hand, and I still won’t believe that it’s true. This isn’t a lack of self-esteem (okay, maybe partly), but it’s also because I know that in the publishing industry things fall apart. And, it’s because I know–just know–that bragging and/or getting excited about something that’s not in the can is the most surefire way to make it all go haywire. Case in point: Tyler’s gorgeous Open For Business collection, which has a drop-dead cover and a line up of authors to die for. I bragged too early and…dang…my swimming with sharks tale got dropped. Ouch. Those teeth hurt a bit. It’s okay. The story will find a home, but I’m sad that I don’t get to share the TOC with the rest of the amazing authors.

There are a number of other things–some of them seriously big–that are “yesses” that I cant…won’t…speak about. Seriously, if those yesses were dollars, they’d be burning holes in my pockets. Still, I will not spend them. I won’t take the risk. I’ll just walk around with my Cheshire Grin so that people will think that I just had really, really hot sex. Which, in my book, is equal to a really, really big yes anyway.

bestgaybondage.jpgHowever, here’s something I can brag about. Signed, sealed and delivered. My story, “And Serpent Became Rod,” has been accepted for Best Gay Bondage Erotica, edited by Richard Labonte. I don’t have the TOC or anything yet, so I’m not sure who else is in it, but I love the books that Richard puts out, and I’m sure this one is going to be a knock-out.

Here’s the blurb from Cleis Press: Intricately secured by ropes, locked in handcuffs, or bound simply by a lover’s command, these dangerously explicit stories of restraint will grab you, tie you down, and never let you go. From professionals letting loose their inhibitions on an office retreat to a garden full of earthy ‘bound’ delights, this cornucopia of kink shows men put in their place and then held there firmly. Featuring some of the masters of gay bondage erotica including Jack Fritscher, Jeff Mann and Larry Townsend.

Yum. Now that’s something to brag about!

