Tags

, , , , , ,

2254134194_e8f4e2734c.jpgWriting. That’s what I’m supposed to be doing, right? Putting fingers to keyboard and all of that. Well, guess what? That’s what I have actually been doing. Can you believe it? I know, I know. This year started off with such a bang, so many big promises. I’m going to write books, dammit! I’m going to stop doing short stories, dammit! I’m going to write all all all the time!

Yeah, right. Best laid plans. Instead, the year took its leash in its mouth and ran away from me and now here I am, standing in the middle of the woods yelling, “Come back! Damn dog! Come back here where I can see you!” I am whistling like a fool. I am offering promises. “Ooh, you sweet sweet thing, I’ll give you a treat! I’ll let you sleep in the bed. Just, please, come on back.” I am going down on my knees in the muck so I am less scary. I am threatening to leave, and then looking back to see if anything is following. It is not. I think I hear a howl, a growl, a whine. No. Now, it is getting cold and dark and I’m standing here, eating the dog treats from my hand because I’m so hungry for something, anything at all, to sustain me.

Well, I bought a new leash. And a purple collar with a silver bell. I’m going to wrap the collar around my own throat to remind myself–the writing never really runs away. We just think it does. It’s easier to crawl through the woods, chasing the unseen dream sometimes than it is to sit down and write. I’d like to think that I’ve had enough of mud and burrs for a while. And dog treats too. They don’t taste so good.

So, to celebrate my new pretty way of doing the “sit! stay! write!” here is what I’m working on:

  • A story off and back from my Darling First Reader. It needs some work, but I also like it a lot. Which is a rare and good thing.
  • My “Dress Me In…” book proposal is all beautiful and complete and has been sent off by way of postal pigeons to the publisher. Fingers crossed, please.
  • Stories off to Best Lesbian Erotica 2009. Also, fingers crossed that they’ll take something this year too.
  • Plans are progressing on the new anthology that I’m co-editing. It’s a hoot, working with someone I respect and admire so much, and I love watching a book go from idea to completion.
  • Yeah, the novel sucks. Suck-suck-suckety. But I’m still working on it. That counts for something, right?
  • Other stories are bubbling up. Ideas, titles, characters. They’re all over the place, but I can’t seem to quite pin them down. Got to get a better grip on the leash, me thinks.
  • Signed up for various thing-a-ma-bobbies: weekend of poetry writing at the beach with lovely Sage, got both my plane ticket and my event ticket for Saints & Sinners, and a bunch of other fun writing-oriented stuff.

And, finally, good news:

  • Blossombones, a very cool online publication has accepted two of my poems, “When This House Burns,” and “Why I Will Not Get Out of Bed,” for an upcoming issue.

Okay, hand me my leash, will you? I’m just going to tie myself to that chair over there and write for a bit.

