Tags

, ,

From the Universal Laws

II. The Law of Cause and Effect:

“This is the law, for like begets like; and you do not gather olives from thistles, neither apples from bramble bushes, neither do you find love in hate.”  
[Edgar Cayce Reading 349-17]

[Actually, I think the law that I want is the first sub-law of Cause & Effect.]

III. The First Law of Increase:

As you sow, so shall you reap.

“For it is the law that as you sow, so shall you reap. And you are the sower; but leave what may be the results to your Father!”  
[Edgar Cayce Reading 1529-1]
   
 

What the hell am I rambling on about? Just a reminder to myself that this is a true law. Not the bit about the Capital F Father so much, but about putting the effort in for the reward. You cannot be a writer unless you write. I’ve had, as you know, a recent dry spell. Just come out of it. Just put the effort back into the places where the effort truly belongs–the words, the stories, the characters.

And, what do I reap? Satisfaction, first and foremost. The sense that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing. The ease of a life “properly” lived.

But, also, I reap acceptances. The two poems yesterday for blossombones, and then today in my inbox: another poem yes (and a very cool enticement from the editor to “convince her” about another one) and a short story tentatively accepted. Delight. Joy. Words raining down on me. Harvest time. Yummy, yummy!

PS. — By the way, in line with the “Do you write what you know?” and “Do you have to know what you write?” question that Alison Tyler is talking about over at her blog today (also wonderfully known as the “Yes, I Ate Her Pussy” post), the Gender Guesser guesses that I’m a WEAK MALE based on my writing samples. Guess we fooled them all again. 🙂

