I swear…it’s the election year that brings them out. The psychos. The religious right. The right wing. The naysayers. The judgment passers. The holier-than-thous. The anti-pleasure, the anti-women, the anti-gay, the anti-sex, the anti-bdsm, the anti-everything that’s not vanilla and safe.

There’s a reason that the word ‘anti’ is used to describe these people. Anti: against, hostile, opposed to.

Why do some people care so much how others live their lives? Why do they spend so much of their lives knocking others? What good can come of it, other than self-protection? After all, if you’re so busy beating up everyone else, you can hardly look at your own bruised face in the mirror, can you?

For the record, a few things you should know about me, lest you think that reading a single story that I write (or the review of a single story that I wrote) tells you anything about me:

  • I love my family, dearly. They love me in return. My parents are incredible, amazing people who support me in all aspects of my life.
  • I was never abused as a child.
  • I don’t do drugs or drink excessively, and I no longer smoke (although I did through college — a few years of being a volunteer firefighter and paramedic cured me of that.)
  • I eat well. I take care of my body. I’m physically active.
  • I have many people in my life that I love, truly and deeply, wholeheartedly and without fear or expectation.
  • I have no issues with my sexuality. I love sex in many, many forms. I think that orgasms, laughter, true friends and good stories are a few of the last remaining free joys in life. (Which isn’t to say these are always free, of course. I know they each carry costs…but they -can- be free.)
  • I don’t do -anything- in excess. Except, possibly, write.
  • I write fiction. Definition, for those who don’t know: Fiction is a literary work based on the imagination and not necessarily on fact. Also, fabrication: a deliberately false or improbable account.

The above list? Not fiction.True.

Most everything else you read that I’ve written? Fiction. False.

And, one final thing to add to that list of truths:

  • If you think, for one moment, that knocking me, or my writing, or my mental state (or that of any of the people that I truly love and care for) will make me stop doing what I love, will make me think that I’m somehow deviant or fucked-up, will bring me to some kind of revelation that what I believe is wrong, well…you are very very sadly mistaken.

Now, I don’t believe in censorship. Thus, I keep this blog open to comments, criticisms, support, naysayers and anyone else who takes the time and energy to post. Discussion is invaluable, and happens far too frequently in our culture. So, I invite you to discuss, if you’re willing.

If you’re an author, how do you handle criticism? Not of your work…we’re used to that, but if your life based on your body of work. Is it beneficial to you? Hurtful? Does it drive you harder?

If you’re a reader, do you write to the authors you know or think you know? Positive and negative? What do you hope to gain by doing so? Do you feel better after? What’s the goal you hope to accomplish?

And, with that, I’m off to write for a few hours. Something filled with death and sex and carnal desires if I’m very very lucky…

