Found in the dashboard of a 1972 baby-food green Pinto:

  • Booty Call 6 rocked. Yes it did. Great readings, free food and lots of faces in the crowd (including a few near and dear to me — thank you so much to those friends, family members, students and adored ones who attended!). The stories ran the gamut from raunchy to hysterical to very very serious (mine, of course. One of these days, I will learn to write funny, damn it!)
  • Wordstock is about to begin. If you live in Portland, have you signed up yet? Made plans to attend? Why the hell not? It’s a fabulous get-together of writers, teachers, book publishers, literary gurus and more, for three days, all under one roof.

Nikki Magennis opens the anthology with “The Sound of One Hand Clapping.”  Nikki Magennis is an incredible storyteller who has a mystical ability with words.  Her descriptions are so compact yet effective that the story comes easily to life.  Like the most perfect blend of pleasure and pain, “The Sound of One Hand Clapping” is hard, punishing and beautiful in its execution.

Equally adept at weaving wonderful worlds with his fiction is the marvellous Mike Kimera.  “Toying with Lily” is his story about a submissive who is testing her master’s boundaries.  Mike creates a narrative that is compelling, consistently sexy, and inspirationally innovative.

Rachel Kramer Bussel, with her wicked story “Crossed,” and Shanna Germain with her delightfully underplayed “Rock Paper Scissors,” both show that – as there are two sides to pleasure and pain – there are also two aspects to dominance and submission.  And both those sides can be equally rewarding.

  • National Novel Writing Month is kicking my ass. Already. Yes it is. I’m not off to a great start, which is different from previous years, where I’ve started strong and faltered along the way. But, it’s okay. I know it will kick in and I will catch up. I am determined. Yes I am.
  • Lastly, did you vote yet? I know, I know, in other places you can’t likely. But here in Oregon, you can vote by mail, or drop off your ballot. I don’t care who you’re voting for (well, I do, but you know what I mean), I’m just encouraging you to do so. Especially in a place like Oregon, where you don’t even have to go out in the rain to do so.

That’s all for now. But there are other cars and other glove boxes, so who knows what I may dig up tomorrow?

