Tags

, , , , ,

mistaken_fairy_tale_iii_by_elvazur

Belated add for credit: http://elvazur.deviantart.com/art/Mistaken-Fairy-Tale-III-74761421. So sorry to the super talented artist!

*

Main Entry: stalk·ing
Function:
noun
: the act or crime of willfully and repeatedly following or harassing another person in circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to fear injury or death esp. because of express or implied threats;
broadly : a crime of engaging in a course of conduct directed at a person that serves no legitimate purpose and seriously alarms, annoys, or intimidates that person
NOTE: Stalking is often considered to be aggravated when the conduct involved also violates a restraining order protecting the victim.

I have Little Red Riding Hood on the brain. Tripping down the path in her thigh-high stockings, naked beneath that blood-red cloak of hers, a basket full of something sweet and delicious over the crook of her arm. Or perhaps it’s really the big bad wolf, with his sharp teeth and his promise of harm. The dark woods where things lurk and slither and sleep with one eye open. The wood cutter with his big, big axe and his rough-hewn hands slipping along the curve of bark.

Why this story? I don’t know. It’s always been my favorite fairy tale. So many villains. No innocents, except perhaps grandma, and even then, someone has to wonder. Didn’t she let the wolf in? Didn’t she look at the glint of his teeth and wonder about his bite? Ask him to lean down, just a bit closer, so she could whisper in his big, big ears?

What does all that have to do with stalking? I’ll tell you tomorrow. (Yes, I’m a horrible tease. You knew that, didn’t you?) For today, tell my your favorite fairy tale. Which one do you love? Why? Or, which one do you hate? I always hated Sleeping Beauty until I read Tim Pratt’s version-ish, “The Girl in the Glass Casket.” Now, I have a different view of it.

Cinderella? The Seven Swan Brothers? The Frog and the Princess? Bluebeard? (Try Margaret Atwood’s collection, Bluebeard’s Egg if you haven’t already.) Cock, the Cat and the Mouse? (How can you not love that one, just for the title?). Gimme, gimme. I’m greedy today. I want to lick gingerbread houses and bounce on beds that are too hard for me and press my lips to the inside of that glass casket, waiting for that pretty girl in red lipstick to wake me…

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

PS – Today’s scaryspookysexy image from FaerieNymph

