Tags

, , , , , , ,

Besides, of course, for the fact that they’re both incredible, amazing, talented writers:

hula_hoop_by_chibi_bunny_usagiSusie is talking here about what it means to be an editor of erotica, and reads from her wonderful new collection, “X: The Erotic Treasury.” I would embed it for you, but apparently I’m too pre-coffee stupid to figure out how (help, anyone? Embedding movies into WordPress?). Her first bit about writing about sex is brilliant and makes my little writer heart just about weep with joy. She even hula-hoops! (I have hula-hoops on the brain lately, between the wii fit and a recent conversation about using the hoop as a makeshift restraint device).

Neil is talking here about blogging in the bathtub (Hurray to learn that I am not the only one who does such dangerous, but oddly delightful time thievery). Not to mention, how many big-time authors do you know who are willing to invite us to not only take a bath with them, but to let us watch them fall asleep?

Also, this bit totally made me laugh, considering how often people think they can read my state of mind based on the fact that I write mostly about sex, sadness and death:

(The biggest problem with being over-interviewed, and exhausted, and testy, and very, very tired, is you get much too honest. Journalist today, “Do you write books with fantasies because you are not happy in the real world?” Me, “Why would you  ask such a question? I mean, do you actually think that people write fantasies because they’re miserable, while realistic novelists are all incredibly happy? Is that what you really think? I mean, it seems an astonishingly silly question even to ask. Do you have a point or a reason for asking it?” It was several hours later that I realised that I might have torpedoed my reputation for gentle diplomacy in this part of the world.)

On a jump-off note: blogging, the internet, Youtube, twitter… all of these have drastically changed the way that writers interact with their readership. I wonder sometimes whether that’s good or bad, how it affects the writing/art itself, and what it leads readers to expect. And, yet, I love it as well. The chance to feel connected to my favorite authors, to see behind the scenes, and to know that even as we all sit, alone and silent, putting words on paper, we are all together as well.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

“Murder is a crime. Writing about it isn’t. Sex is not a crime, but writing about it is. Why?” ~Larry Flynt

PS — Hula shot from here; bathtub girl by this artist.

PPS — Don’t forget that dessert’s on over at Nikki’s castle. Trust me, you’ll regret it if you don’t stop by. Or if you’re too late and I’ve eaten all the truffles already.

