Tags

, , , , ,

one_way

So, I have big news. Now that it’s official (although, truly also officially scary), I can share it.

Here it is: I’m leaving the place I’ve considered home for many, many years. I’m leaving the work I’ve considered mine. I’m leaving security and day-to-day and the Colombia Gorge and the Oregon coast and the volcano in my backyard. I’m leaving the Attic, the bubble tea place, the coffee shop down the road, the farmer’s market, New Seasons. I am leaving my bike (The White Goose), my big wooden desk (Big Wooden Desk), my treadmill (Hamster Mill) and my favorite fireplace (unnamed as of yet). I am leaving my walks, and my bike route and my bank and my favorite street and my favorite park. Of course, I am leaving loved ones, but I can’t think about them at the moment, because it makes me sad. And this is not sad news.

scotland_series___day_03_by_ailaik

If you think this sounds like I am leaving my life, then yes, you’re probably right. But it’s only temporary. In April, I’m heading off to the UK to live. For how long? I don’t know. Probably six months. My plan? To write, of course. To write lots and write well. To sit by the sea. To taste the sky. To do castle walks and wear a kilt and live dangerously.

It’s a rather long story how this all came about. Some of you have heard it. Some you have heard parts of it. To others of you, this news probably making you go, “What? What?” I’ll keep you informed, of course, and give more details as we get closer. For now, suffice to say I’m on a grand journey, and I’ll be dragging you along with me, whether you like it or not!

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,” he used to say. “You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

PSOne Way Portland photo by this artist. Scotland Danger to Life photo by this one.

