Tags

,

a91305861cd0304f08ccc46d87391269

*

And there it is. The expected rejection after getting three yeses. It so often works that way. My prose poem, “Three Pigs,” got a “not quite right, but I liked it a lot and I hope you submit again” ping this evening. Of course, the publication only takes six pieces per issue, so it was a long shot.

Still, rejection hits home pretty hard. Less and less so for me as time goes by. It never keeps me from writing, but it does often start me down that eternal road of “what do I think I’m doing? I’m not fooling anyone with this ‘I’m a writer’ bullshit.”

Dayle talked recently about how rejection doesn’t get any easier. You just keep your head down, keep writing and try to stay positive. Sometimes it’s easy. Sometimes it’s not. Coming on the heels of a couple acceptances, this one’s not too bad.

Of course, it helps to know that so many of the writers who I adore and admire and aspire to be like have recieved their own rejections, have their own fears and struggles. Not that I want them to get rejected, or to worry about their writing, but because it’s nice not to be alone.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“Think P.I.G. – that’s my motto. P stands for Persistence, I stands for Integrity, and G stands for Guts. These are the ingredients for a successful business and a successful life.” ~Linda Chandler

