Tags

, , , ,

cover2

Okay, maybe we haven’t really gone that wild, but then again, how do you know until you try it? Twelve of Oregon’s most impressive writers (well, truthfully, I feel more like it’s eleven of Oregon’s most impressive writers, and then little ole me) offered to bare all in the name of doing good. Or perhaps we just really wanted to bare all anyway and now we have a good excuse.

To wit, Oregon Writer’s Colony has created a 2010 Calender of nude-ish writers, all to benefit the Colony House, an amazing writing sanctuary on the Oregon coast. The money from the calenders (19.95 plush S&H, I believe) will go toward making the Colony House accessible to those with disabilities. You can read all about the calender, about the authors who dared to bare all, and the fund-raising goals at the Oregon Writer’s Colony website.

I haven’t seen the final of my photo yet, but I do know it’s my naked body and some dancing flames! I have seen some of the other photos though, including Sage’s pregnant-in-the-bathtub shot, and they are both gorgeous and inspiring. Surely a worthy addition to your wall — and a day-view you can feel good about, in all kinds of ways…

*

In other ‘writers gone wild’ news, I’ll be teaching an erotic- and sex-focused writer-in-resident seminar at the Colonyhouse on the Oregon coast, I believe the weekend of November 20-22. A W-I-R program is usually three days of intense writing opportunities, mixed with conversations about writing (and whatever else pops up), laughing, game-playing, reading, home-made food, walks on the beach, afternoon naps, and more writing. There is no Internet, no TV and few distractions. If you want to get away and write for three days while being seeped in creative and positive energy, this is a fantastic opportunity to do just that.

I’ll let you know as soon as I have the official details on the when, where and how. For now, here’s the blurb about the experience. It is likely to fill up fast, so if you’re interested in attending, let me know, and I’ll make sure I send you the sign-up information as soon as I have it.

Sexy on the Page

Andy Warhol once said, “Sex is more exciting on the screen and between the pages than between the sheets.” And, yet, for so many writers of both fiction and non-fiction, sex is one of the hardest things to write well. Whether you want to produce hot and literary erotic short stories, add realistic and imaginative sex to your novel, or pen sizzling poems, this Writer-in-Residence weekend promises to deliver. Exercises presented in a comfortable, supportive, open-minded atmosphere (with props!) will allow us to explore written sexuality in all its forms and to explore the elements of language, character, narrative and style that come together to create amazing sex on the page. In addition to writing time, instruction and group discussions, there will be opportunities to read your work aloud, as well as to meet privately with Shanna about specific issues and concerns.

*

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“A lot of people refuse to do things because they don’t want to go naked, don’t want to go without guarantee. But that’s what’s got to happen. You go naked until you die.” ~Nikki Giovanni

