Tags

, ,

horse_love_by_KAMALGAUR

Oh, hell. I’ve got horses and saddles and reins on the brain. But it’s not my fault, I swear it! (I’ll blame it on Storm Large and her wickedly fun and funny video. Yes, I will. Because I can. I want a long red wig and a pony too! -pouts-)

Either way, July is over. Or almost over. It’s over for me, anyway, since I’m taking tomorrow off (I know, I know, a whole day of “vacation,” can you believe it?!). Which means it’s time to take stock of how I did this month, as well as to set my plans up for August. Eep.

Overall, July wasn’t too bad, I don’t think. Not as good as I’d hoped, but it never is, since I tend to be the “aim for the stars, and you’ll get somewhere near the top of a pretty short tree,” kind of goal-setter.

SO, TALLY & TALLY HO FOR THE MONTH OF JULY:

  • 6 EROTIC
    • BDSM/Fairy: Completed & Accepted. WOOWOO!
    • Wired Hard: Completed & Accepted. Cha-ching!
    • SM Extreme: Completed & Submitted
    • Erotic Horror: Completed & Submitted
    • ♥ Summer of Love: Completed, not submitted. Needs a home.
    • ♥ Pound: Also Completed, not submitted. Needs a revision.
  • 6 HORROR/SCI/SPEC
    • Horses: Completed & Submitted
    • Oz: Completed & Rejected. Hell Fuck.
    • ♣ Shine: Nope.
    • ♣ Revenant: Completed Draft. It seriously sucked.
    • ♣ Vamp: Completed Draft. It also kind of sucked.
    • ♣ Open: Completed Draft.
  • 6 OTHER
    • ♦ 1 Novella: Ha! Right.
    • ♦ 20,000 Words Novel: Ha. Right again.
    • 1 Essay: Completed & Submitted
    • 3 Poems Sent: Completed
    • ♦ Poetry Chapbook: -blushes- Oops.
    • Soapstone: Completed

JULY BROUGHT: 4 Acceptances, 1 Rejection

So… hm… maybe not as good as I thought. Nor as bad as I thought either! In my defense, I traveled two weeks of the month and I forgot to include some time to work on my delightful new project (which I’m going to be squealing about tomorrow, I promise!).

It also doesn’t include the sixteen thousand half-starts, partial finishes and all of the other crap that I have now added to my “Write Someday” folder. (Does anyone else do this? I just read a post from some writer who said she finished writing everything she started, she didn’t have a “Things That Seemed Like A Good Idea & Which I Spent Six Hours On, But May Never Finish Because I Can’t Figure Out How the Fucker Ends” folder. Which made me want to slap her. Hard. And a lot.)

Onward, upward, forward, giddyup-word. Now I’m off to plan my August goals, have a much-needed celebratory drink and then take a whole twenty-four hours away from my computer! Yes, this is true excitement in the life of a writer…

I need help.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“Writers are not just people who sit down and write.  They hazard themselves.  Every time you compose a book your composition of yourself is at stake.”  ~E.L. Doctorow

