Tags

, , ,

il_430xN.86890406*

It’s quiet on the home front at the moment, I know. I’ve got my head down, and not over the keyboard for once. I’m planning, packing, cleaning, gathering, getting rid of, doing all the things that one does before they leave their temporary home and return to … another temporary home. My goal is to get everything into one suitcase and a carry on. And by everything, I mean my entire life (minus the three boxes of published books and tax records that are back in Portland in a storage space). This is, as you might imagine, incredibly difficult. Of course, most of the space is taken up by clothes and books and work-type electronics (laptops, back-up drives, headphones, camera, etc.).

I am grateful, in my ways, to be a writer at times like these. Not in any small part because it means that I can take much of my work and my workspace with me, all of it captured inside a computer the size of a notebook. Hurray for technology.

Still, it’s not all going to fit. Not even if I sit on it. Not even if I beg and plead for it to shrink itself down. Not even if I cry and wail and thrash on the floor in a temper tantrum. So, it’s back to the drawing board, seeing what else I can give to the charity shop.

In the meantime, I may not be here much for the next few days. If you need me, you know where to find me — buried in the bits and pieces of my life, trying to decide which of them I can leave behind.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“Just remember, the same as a spectacular Vogue magazine, remember that no matter how close you follow the jumps: Continued on page whatever. No matter how careful you are, there’s going to be the sense you missed something, the collapsed feeling under your skin that you didn’t experience it all. There’s that fallen heart feeling that you rushed right through the moments where you should’ve been paying attention. Well, get used to that feeling. That’s how your whole life will feel some day. This is all practice. None of this matters. We’re just warming up.” ~Chuck Palahniuk

