Tags

,

*

I just discovered Slow Blogging and its delightful manifesto. I think it’s brilliant in many ways, and it mirrors the way I feel when I’m torn between writing ‘real’ work and sending a Twitter or Facebook message. Yes, the Twitter message is instant gratification, but what does it mean, what form does it take over the long run, what affect does it have on the writing that I am truly here to do?

Here’s part of the manifesto that really rings true with me:

Slow Blogging is speaking like it matters, like the pixels that give your words form are precious and rare. It is a willingness to let current events pass without comment. It is deliberate in its pace, breaking its unhurried stride for nothing short of true emergency. And perhaps not even then, for slow is not the speed of most emergencies, and places where beloved, reassuring speed rules the day will serve us best at those times.

And this too:

Slow Blogging is a response to and a rejection of Pagerank. Pagerank, the ugly-beautiful monster that sits behind the many folded curtains of Google, deciding the question of authority and relevance to your searches. Blog early, blog often, and Google will reward you.

I just love the image of Pagerank as this kind of creature, a mythical being for the computer age, roaring at us from behind the pages of the web.

I know, that I too am guilty of all of these things. Blogging too fast, too unthinkingly. Worrying about stats and hit counters. Starting posts by apologizing for how long it’s been since I posted (as if it’s some kind of contest or race that I’ve lost just by not participating enough). Wondering whether it bothers me or encourages me that more people arrive here searching for “spanking” and “bondage” than for “writing” and “fiction” or even my own name.

But perhaps the thing that strikes me as being most important, are the words from this other slow blog, which suggests that, first and foremost:

Slow bloggers blog for people, not search engines, page ranks or technorati authority.

I’m not knocking blogs in either form. There are fast blogs that I love to read. And there are slow blogs that bore me to death. But I am thinking about my goal here, my use of time, my use of words. These words matter. My words matter. Yours matter. How can we make them matter more?

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

