Tags

, , , ,

WonderBat Powers, Activate! Form of an Internet Break!

*

So, Saturday and Sundays are my days “off,” whatever that means to someone who works for herself and never lets go of her laptop. Thus, I found myself unsure whether or not I still needed to do the Internet fast. Was that only for workdays? But I decided that I said, “a week,” thus I should take the whole week.

Here’s what I got done on my two days:

  • I took care of something that’s been plaguing me forever. A couple of years ago, I was ghost-writing and editing books for this fantastic design company. Along the way, we talked about my website (which I’d made via Homestead forever ago, and which basically needed a serious upgrade). We made a plan for them to update it — I loved the design they came up with, and still use it on my business cards to date. And then … nothing happened. At all. I stopped updating my website and focused on the blog, waiting for the revamp. And still nothing happened. So I kept waiting. But in the back of my mind, I know that it was time to give up and to just have my blog be my “main site” since that’s the way I use it anyway. But I couldn’t find the password for the company I’d bought my domain name from to redirect and on and on. Today, I sat down and tackled it. Thus, http://www.shannagermain.com now leads visitors directly to this site. Which makes me very happy. Check one long overdue thing off my list.
  • (I also peeked at a friend’s baby pictures on Facebook! Gah! She emailed to say they were on there. It’s cute friend and cute babeh! I could not resist.)
  • I finished the literary story that’s been plaguing me and sent it off to my first readers with a “This sucks, please help make it well!” plea.
  • I baked amazing coffee chocolate-chip brownies while dancing around the kitchen to music I haven’t listened to in at least six months. I cooked twice and I made Irish coffees with real whip cream.
  • I took a lot of walks. During one of those, I found a bat ring (photo above).
  • I read: finished Sex and the Seasoned Woman, The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy, more erotica, started Still Life with Crows, and worked on a few more.
  • I read a lot of poetry, thought about poetry, came up with an idea and title for a new poetry collection.
  • I scrubbed the bathroom and took a bubble bath while I read a book. I haven’t done that since Scotland, at the least.

This isn’t really different than what I would have done anyway, except that I did a lot more “book” reading, and a lot less web reading. I do feel less connected to my friends who are far away though, since I haven’t been keeping up-to-date on their blogs and whatnot.

Tomorrow it’s back to the no-net work schedule. We’ll see how it goes. I’m actually looking forward to getting lots done.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“I have a saying. If you want to write for yourself, get a diary. If you want to write for a few friends, get a blog. But if you want to write for a lot of people, think about them a little bit. What do they like? What are their needs? A lot of people in this country go through their days numb. They need to be entertained. They need to feel something.” ~James Patterson, in a NYT essay.

