Tags

, , , ,

I love this card from Girls Can Tell. Wish it was on a t-shirt. I’d SO wear that every day!
*

As someone who jumps genres at least daily (and sometimes hourly), I often feel bad for my first-readers. See, I have two fantastic guys who read my stories for me — my goal is to send them two drafts each week. They tear my stories apart and send them back (and I try to do the same for them).

But I just did a search in my email for their email addresses in order to find an old crit they’d sent back, and I realized something: I am all over the board. This is what my stories for the past two months look like on their way out of my inbox (read as Title (genre)).

  • Killing Time (Gay Quickie)
  • Big Red (Literary Horror)
  • Rice Marks (Literary)
  • Distance (Hetero Erotica)
  • Invasion (Zombie Horror)
  • The Next Hot Thing (Gay Voyeur)
  • Anatomies (Literary)
  • Hands of Time (Fantasy Time-Travel)
  • Fuel (Apocalypse Sci-Fi)
  • When In Rome (Erotic Novel)
  • How to Dance While Drowning (Urban Fantasy)

Whoa. Those poor, fantastic readers of mine! I am seriously all over the board. And that doesn’t include the things that I’m writing that I’m not sending them: poetry, articles, essays, blog posts, a new column (I haven’t announced this yet, but stay tuned, it’s coming!), and more. I like this about myself — I suppose I have delusions of Mark Twain-style grandeur, this belief that I can write in all genres and do it well. (I don’t know if that’s true yet, but I’m determined to keep trying…)

And in the meantime, I’m just going to say thank you, thank you, thank you to my first readers, who tear apart my prose so well, who can see the bigger forest when I’m hitting my head against the tree, who nail me on my flaws (lay versus lie, sentence fragments, overly wordy) and who tell me straight out on those rare occasions when I’ve nailed it and gotten it right.

Thanks to them, I’ve written better work, gotten more acceptances and become more productive.

Who do you want to thank when it comes to your writing?

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“We are cups, constantly and quietly being filled. The trick is, knowing how to tip ourselves over and let the beautiful stuff out.” ~Ray Bradbury

