Tags

, , ,

The Hopscotch House

*

A wonderful opportunity for Kentucky women who are interested in a writing retreat: The Hopscotch House. I haven’t been there myself, not being much of a Kentucky woman, but I have been lucky enough to attend a few other retreats in my writing lifetime, and every single one of them has been good for me in an entirely different way. During my first real retreat ever at Soapstone, I wrote my first novella, which was later published. While in Scotland, I must have written nearly fifty stories, many of which have gone on to good things. At my current retreat, I’m rewriting my novel, which I hope will eventually be published.

It’s funny to look back and realize that out of every retreat I’ve ever been on, I have yet to be at a retreat (beyond class-type retreats) that are a community of artists. Mostly, it’s been just me or just me and other other artist. Earlier this year, I applied to Art Farm, a really neat place with a group of artists. I like the idea of being in a place where I’m surrounded by the creative inspiration and activity of others; I just haven’t had the opportunity to try it yet. Perhaps this year I will.

I’m so grateful to all of the retreat chances that I’ve had, to the people who put them together and who fund them and who read a million applications and work samples. If you’ve ever had any interest in going to something like this, I say, Apply. Apply. If anything, I find that my gratitude toward those who are working behind the scenes makes me bust my own butt to get something wonderful done in thanks.

*

2010 Hopscotch House Summer Residency Program applications now available:

Application deadline:  April 2, 2010.
Notification: May 6, 2010

The Hopscotch House Summer Residency Program provides feminist social change artists with opportunities to advance their artistic development in a supportive creative community. The program welcomes artists at all stages of development and does not require a work sample.

  • Artists may apply for a one-week residency during either of the following weeks:
    • June 21 – June 27, 2010
    • June 28 – July 4, 2010
  • Artists may apply for a two-week residency during the following weeks:
    • June 21 – July 4, 2010

Applicants must be able to commit to completing a residency of at least one week. Five private bedrooms and three studio spaces are available, along with modest stipends of up to $400. The natural setting, physical space and shared commitment to feminist art and social change at Hopscotch House can inspire, nurture, rejuvenate, and enhance the creative time of artists selected to participate.

You may download Summer Residency Information and Application and Stipend Request Forms here. For more information, contact Mary Yates at mary@kfw.org or by calling the KFW office 502-562-0045 or toll free 866-654-7564.

For information or to receive paper copies of application forms, please call Mary Yates, Retreat and Residency Program Manager, at 502-562-0045 or 1-866-654-7564 or email her at mary@kfw.org.

*

