Tags

, , , , , ,

*

Bunch of woo-woo and deadliney-type things happening that you should/could/might wanna’ know about. Here they are:

  • My new column, “The Art of Submission,” has just debuted at Erotica Readers and Writers. The first one is called, “Nailing the Query Letter.” Future pieces will look at writing amazing bios, finding and organizing your markets, working with editors, etc. All that good stuff that happens AFTER you write the stuff. Please check it out. I’d love to hear what you think!
  • The deadline for Gluttony submissions has been extended to April 25th, and the new deadlines are up as well. I just had a lot of people saying they wanted to put something together, but couldn’t because of the tax-crunch. So, here’s your chance! If you’ve submitted something already, I do have it, but haven’t read any of the submissions yet. Please do submit — this is going to be an amazing collection of books, and I’m very willing to work with new authors as well as old hats!
  • My online classes are coming up — this is probably the last set of online classes I’ll do until fall at least, because I’ll be teaching in-person all summer and don’t want to overextend. If you’re interested in a class on either writing and editing or polishing and submitting your erotica, taking a class online is a great way to get your toes wet without having to expose yourself fully  to the brisk waters of writing and editing!
  • My in-person classes (located in Portland) start the end of April. I’ll be teaching a language of your life class (memoir or fiction) as well as a poetry of work class and a genre class. Check it out at Attic Writers and the Dojo. I’ll also be teaching a one-time weekend class in erotic writing.
  • If you loved, liked or loathed my Year-of-Travel blog, Chapter 37, then I either have good or bad news. Tomorrow is Chapter 37’s last day, as I turn 38 on Friday, and am thus going to move on to Chapter 38. What’s Chapter 38, you ask? Well, it’s an exciting new project that I’m just putting the final touches on. No, I won’t be spending another year traveling the world (although I certainly hope to travel). Instead, I’ll be doing… well, I can’t tell you just yet, can I? But do keep an eye out over the next few days as I wrap up an amazing year and move into a new one.
  • And, lastly, tomorrow begins Read Write Poem, the poem-a-day challenge for National Poetry Month. Come and play along!

And, that, thankfully (hopefully) is all the news that’s fit to print! I can’t imagine how I’m going to spend that one extra minute I have each day after this kind of schedule, but I’m sure I’ll find a way to fill it. It’s going to be an exciting summer, with lots of great words and great students and great experiences! I can just feel it.

Many kisses, many bangs, s.

*

“Commit the oldest sins the newest kind of ways” ~William Shakespeare

“Sin is geographical.” ~Bertrand Russell

