*

I’m Not the One You Want, Babe

You can say it and say it,
promise I’m the one for you,
but that doesn’t make it true.
It’s never been true.
It was true once.
It’s not been true for years.
*
You say you love the way I walk, but these legs
go too far, too fast, got too many shoes with
mismatched heels. Six broken toes, one for
each year and no fuck-me polish, no silver circles
can hide that big black bruise, the toenail that
comes undone on the back-step. Your closet’s too full
of soft Italian leather for these candy red pumps,
these slick back sling backs, these gold-hued heels.
*
You might love what I bring, babe, but we both know
my baggage don’t  fit in your living room.
Too big, too bulky, too many worn-edged stickers
from places you’ve never been, don’t want to
hear about. Coasts and shores my fingers have
explored, hills and mountains that aren’t for you,
will never be for you, there aren’t even photos for you.
*
You like the way I wiggle, but these days
my ass doesn’t fit in your bed, too many dimples
on those satin smooth sheets, too many pleases
and pleasures. Too many stars in too many
constellations that you can’t name or read or find.
This sky is big, babe, so big you’d get lost
and you know it and I know it and my ass knows it too.
*
So, mold me all you want, make me mind and
fold into small squares and bind me into
sixes, tuck me in tight, but it’s
only temporary, this cloth cocoon.
I won’t get wings, but I’m about to get
a leather dress, fits me fine like
carry-on, does me right as reins.
*
You hate to see me go, but you never want
to see me come.
*
Well, this is me, going. This is me coming
away from you, shoes and bags and
leather-clad ass.
Watch me put it on and pack it up.
Watch me wiggle my way. Watch me go.

*

*

About This Poem: This was a toughie. I had not a single bit of inspiration and no good ideas. And then this song came on, and I heard the lyric, “I’m not the one you want, babe” and I grabbed it and ran with it.

About Poem-A-Day: For the month of April (National Poetry Month), I’ve signed on to write a poem-a-day (eeks!). To make it slightly easier on myself, my rules are that I have to write each poem in fifteen minutes or less, and that I have to post it here on the blog as soon as I’m done. No edits. Just rough. Raw. Right out of the gate. (Of course, if you’re playing along, I hope you’ll post a link to your poem in the comments here — mainly because I’m selfish and I want to read them!)

See all my Poem-A-Day poems here.

*

