Tags

, , ,

*

Oh, Alice

You’re not what I expected. You’re not even blonde.
You Liddle girl, you, with the fringe and the bob, the
ever-white dress. Do you always lick your lips like that,
or is it nervous as a stutter? Get down from the table,
let’s go to the garden. You could use the sun. Come on,
*
forget that old guy. His last name’s not even Carroll. Your daddy
won’t like him. Remember that photo in the trees? The way your
back got all scratched while you waited for him to watch you,
how your hands sweated in the folds of your dress? He’s told all the
stories he’s gonna’ tell and nothing’s free. Plus, we all know
*
three inches isn’t a very good height indeed. I know, let’s have a
tea party for your birthday. I met this hatter, glue-sniffer,
hair clipper. He’s got a big laugh and one glass eye. I can’t make
Scottish tea, but I can make short bread and pumpkin jam
and three kinds of rhubarb pie. We’ll drink heroin water
*
out of baseball caps and set bear traps for alabaster rabbits.
Eat this, drink this and let’s go steal the red queen’s dress,
that one that flows like blood. It’s too small in the chest, but we’ll
stuff it with the twins. They won’t talk if you show them the way
down your button hole. Let’s take a boat beneath a sunny sky.
*
We’ll deal the cards and kiss the cat and not once will the dodo
get the prize. Keep my thimble on your thumb and my ink
on your face, keep your hand in mine and nevermind
the time. We’ll be the Queen of Hearts tarts, mad as March hares.
Oh, Alice, come on. It’s gonna’ be aces, a frabjous day.

*

*

About This Poem: Totally and completely inspired by this series of photos about the “Real Alice.

About Poem-A-Day: For the month of April (National Poetry Month), I’ve signed on to write a poem-a-day (eeks!). To make it slightly easier on myself, my rules are that I have to write each poem in fifteen minutes or less, and that I have to post it here on the blog as soon as I’m done. No edits. Just rough. Raw. Right out of the gate. (Of course, if you’re playing along, I hope you’ll post a link to your poem in the comments here — mainly because I’m selfish and I want to read them!)

See all my Poem-A-Day poems here.

You can also read some amazing poems-a-day over at Sage Cohen’s blog.

*

