Tags

,

*

I Am My Own Match.Com

*
The website says to describe the real me–
you won’t attract a mate if you’re fake.
So I say I’m smart, sexy, shy and baggage-free.
*
I feel like I should add an apology
since this is as good of a me as I can make.
The website says to show the real me,
*
by posting a big photo for all to see.
but that eyebrow piercing was a big mistake,
so I repeat that I’m smart, sexy, shy and baggage-free.
*
The dating slogan is Be All You Can Be,
but already I want to retake
this one-time chance to create the real me.
*
I should have said I’m a double D,
with baby blues and an ass that can shake
instead of: smart, sexy, shy and baggage-free.
*
I open my inbox to not a single re:
and realize that even a virtual heart breaks,
because this means no one wants the real me
when I claim I’m smart, sexy, shy and baggage-free.

*

*

About This Poem: I actually had a bit of fun with this one. Which I suppose is one of the joys of form is that you can let the rest go and do some fun things inside the structure. Here’s how it started.

About Poem-A-Day: For the month of April (National Poetry Month), I’ve signed on to write a poem-a-day (eeks!). To make it slightly easier on myself, my rules are that I have to write each poem in fifteen minutes or less, and that I have to post it here on the blog as soon as I’m done. No edits. Just rough. Raw. Right out of the gate. (Of course, if you’re playing along, I hope you’ll post a link to your poem in the comments here — mainly because I’m selfish and I want to read them!)

See all my Poem-A-Day poems here.

You can also read some amazing poems-a-day over at Sage Cohen’s blog.

*

