Tags

, , ,

Self portrait as Little Red Riding Hood. Wolf in girl’s clothing?

*

I’ve got fairy tales on the brain these days. First off, I’m writing a bunch of fairy-tale inspired stories, from a naughty version of an old German tale to a scary-ass (as in, I can’t work on it after dark, because I freak myself out) story about trolls under bridges.

I just finished taking some self-portraits (like the one above) for Kristina Wright’s promo of her great collection, “Fairy Tale Lust.” I’ve now been inspired to do a bunch more. I’d love to do a whole series of self-portrait as … wicked stepmother, cinderella, beast, sleeping beauty, prince, etc. In all my spare time, of course!

Also, the editors over at Pank just sent me the most awesome interview questions ever, about my story, Big Red. I don’t know when the interview goes live, but I will say that one of the questions is based on a Queen song, and how can you not love that?

What are you working on?

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

Faeries, come take me out of this dull world,
For I would ride with you upon the wind,
Run on the top of the dishevelled tide,
And dance upon the mountains like a flame.

William Butler Yeats, The Land of Heart’s Desire.

