Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been quiet here of late, I know. And part of me wonders if that is because blogging, even for those of us who like to do the writing, is passe. Facebook and Twitter are the newest places to report how we feel, to share with our friends and colleagues, to explore new and exciting happenings. Facebook is easy. Everyone responds, there’s a simple discussion that happens. Writing a blog has become far more isolated for me, something that takes a fair amount of time and energy. And, yet, I love to read blogs, to sink my teeth into something that’s longer and more complex than a thirty-second write up. I appreciate the amount of effort that someone puts into a blog post.

So, in truth, that’s part of why I haven’t been here. The other part is that I’ve been sunk into a whole new world, on many different levels. My life is all new for me now — I have acquired a dog and a bird, I own a bed and a closet after a year of living out of my suitcase, I have a bunch of new jobs editing and writing. And I took what was supposed to be a month away from writing short fiction (ack, super scary!) to work only on a novel. That turned out to be new, frightening and completely time consuming.

Along the way of writing, something else happened: the novel got accepted, based on the synopsis and the first third. I haven’t talked or crowed about it much, mainly because I’m afraid of jinxing things, but it means I’ve been cranking away on it, big time. The draft was finished a few weeks ago, and since then, I’ve been mentally ironing out the big plot holes, reweaving threads, figuring out the purpose of scenes and more.

For the next five days, I’m off to a retreat in the woods, sinking even more into the novel, finalizing it, getting it ready. I’ll be all by myself in all kinds of ways, and that’s the right place for me to be in order to get this done. Thus, it’ll be even more quiet here for a few more days. And then, on the fifth, I expect to re-surge back into the world, full of excitement and fear at having finished.

Until then, please bear with me. Enjoy the radio silence. Keep your fingers crossed for me, as I’ll surely need it. Find a dream and follow it — they’re closer than you think.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

PS – Pretty, pretty girl and typewriter photo from this artist.

