Tags

, , , , , , ,

Okay, timeline:

  • September 1, 2010: Started my fantasy novel, “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea.”
  • Mid-September, 2010: Had “Devil” accepted by a really fantastic publisher.
  • October 4, 2010: Sent the completed novel off to the publisher.
  • October 15, 2010: Had idea for second fantasy novel. Decided to write it for National Novel Writing Month.
  • October 21, 2010 (aka Today): Realize I am the most masochistic creature that ever lived, to attempt to write back-to-back fantasy novels (set in completely different worlds) in a matter of three months.

Of course, that realization has done nothing to deter my plan. Which is kind of the story of my life.

Me: “Hey, I’m gonna’ do XX!”

Half the world: “Hey, you can’t do XX!”

Quarter of the world: “Hey, that’s awesome! I wish I could do XX!”

Other quarter of the world: “Hey, that’s awesome! I’m going to do XX too!”

And then I worry over the people who told me I couldn’t (maybe they’re right?), I worry over the people who want to but think they can’t (why not? what stops them?), and I celebrate those who found something inspirational in my own crooked path and are willing to jump into the fray and try.

So, as I embark on this totally crazy, nutso, one hundred percent insane thing, I ask you: What insane dream are you following this November, or this year? It doesn’t have to be NaNoWriMo. Make it your own. Write a book between now and the end of 2010. Write 200 words a day for the month of November. Any words at all. Make a plan. Start a thing. Carve out the time that you deserve for the thing you love. Every day counts. Do some small thing toward your dream, your goal, your secret desire, and make every day count more.

Or, come join me at NaNoWriMo. Write your first bad novel. Or your thirtieth bad novel. Or your second good novel. This is your invitation to what’s next. All you have to do is say yes.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

PS — Steampunk image from this awesome artist!

