Tags

, , , ,

Opening Scene from The Accidental Tourist, Reseen With 20/20 Vision

 

1.

Our son is dead. Just say it.

We’re not Hemingways.

Why beat around the mountain

when we can drive over it at 10 and 2?

Those hills are just hills,

a bitch to climb up but safe when seen

through your plastic lenses

and the rain-trailed window.

 

2.

Also, I never loved you. Okay, maybe

that time you brought me your newest

guidebook and maybe that time you drive

me through the rain and hit the brake at just

the right moment. I never even saw that

motorcycle. But maybe that was just

pride and delayed grief. I don’t know what love is.

What it’s not is a girl walking her dog

in the sunshine by the side of the road.

That’s just being blinded by the moment.

 

3.

Okay, maybe I loved you a little.

 

4.

Why couldn’t you have just pulled over

at the beginning of the book?

 

***

NOTES: This just came, quick, from the 20/20 vision postcard on the Postsecret page. Have no idea at all why that made me think of the book — I’ve never written a poem based on a novel before, so this was fun.

Read today’s prompt (as well as the inspiration beyond poem-a-day) over at Not Without Poetry. My goal is to write a poem each day in less than 20 minutes, and without additional revision beyond the writing experience.

