Tags

, , , , , , ,

Okay, this is going to be down and dirty because it’s 6:30 on Sunday night, I haven’t eaten or had nearly enough coffee, I have only written for two hours the entire weekend yet my brain is (delightfully) both full and fried, and I think my eyeballs might fall out of my head. And why, you ask? (Or don’t ask, but I’m going to tell you anyway). Because I’ve been at PDX GearCon all weekend and it has been awesome, but also awesomely exhausting.

Thus, I want to blog briefly about the conference before I move back into the real world of work and deadlines,  so here it is, the roundup of things that I loved about PDX GearCon:

  • The conversations, the panels, the impromptu hallway discussions about steampunk, cyberpunk, writing, marketing, ebooks, anarchy, erotica, polyamory, Portland, exes, dogs, cats, gaming, love and life.
  • The outfits. Fan-fucking-tasting. I am hoping that someone smarter and more organized than me took lots of pictures.
  • The absolute best part, however, was meeting some amazing writers. I heard some awesome work being read, I got super inspired by the energy and dedication, the word-play and word-passion. There are some steampunk (and otherwise) authors in the Pacific NW who–if you’re not reading–you should be. Seriously. Here, I’ll give you a place to start:
  • Mary Robinette Kowal: Her first novel, “Shades of Milk and Honey,” is just fantastic and her second novel, “Glamour in Glass” is coming soon. If you like Regency/Historical fiction that’s smart, literary and full of magic, just say yes.
  • Devon Monk: You’re probably already reading her and loving her and just didn’t realize it. She’s the author of the Allie Beckstrom urban fantasy series (Magic to the Bone, etc) as well as a brand-new steampunk novel.
  • Andrew Mayer: His book, “The Falling Machine,” — the first of a trilogy about superheroes in the 1880s, just came out and I got to hear a couple of sections of its awesomeness.
  • Cherie Priest, who is working on her newest novel in the Clockwork Century series and has a whole bunch of other books under her belt.
  • M.K. Hobson, who read (I believe — I arrived a little late, sadly) from her novel, “The Hidden Goddess,” and had me at “witch battling giant cockroaches and mosquitoes.” Yes, please.
  • Irene Radford, who is incredibly prolific, writes under about a zillion pen names and who is editing a new collection of steampunky awesomeness.
  • Jay Lake wasn’t there due to his cancer treatment, but if you want to read some really fantastic weird and wonderful stuff, he is your man.

Okay. Now go. Buy books. Read books. Tell your favorite authors how much you adore them.

In the meantime, I’m going to eat, do laundry, clean, answer emails, walk the dog and then pass out and sleep for a hundred years. Someone please remember to wake me with a kiss?

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

