Tags

, , , ,

 

I’m currently taking an online class (I’ll talk later about what the experience has been like, since this is the first online class I’ve taken, despite having taught a number of them) and one of our assignments was to create seven sentences to open novels with. Because this is the kind of assignment that I could take years doing (beginnings are hard for me), I gave myself a time limit of 15 minutes to see what I could come up with.

So here they are, my seven baby novel sentences. Maybe someday I’ll use one or two of them as writing exercises and create longer works out of them. In the meantime, I think it’s a fantastic way to get the crazy story ideas flowing, if you’re stuck for something to write about!

Seven Sentences

Baby, there are three things you need to know about mermen: the first is that we’re hung like river horses, the second is that we like, I mean really like, redheads, and the third… well, let me tell you a story about the third.

Six spoonfuls of mermaid roe, eight baby bat wings, two songbird bills, and the howl of a werewolf; she’d made this recipe a hundred times and still couldn’t get it to rise properly.

It was the time of year when seeds were scarce and men were buried face-first in the bog.

There were only six dwarves standing around the cottage, which meant that sometime between act one and act three, someone had stolen Grumpy.

By the time I got to ferryman, I had nothing in my pocket but eleven dollars, six ten-penny nails and a crushed fortune cookie.

Stephanie had wanted to sing all her life; she just didn’t expect she’d have to give up her boyfriend in order to get it.

“Baby brother, you’ve got six minutes to convince me that this isn’t your steam gun and that isn’t my robot girlfriend on your couch.”

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

PS — Awesome merman image from this artist.

