Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh no! My color is bad! And my gaze is not direct!

*

The Times, how you break my bloody heart. You promise me a delicious, interesting article with a title like, “The Mad Scientist of Smut,” and then you deliver… this?

Nicholson Baker does not look like a dirty-book writer. His color is good. His gaze is direct, with none of the sidelong furtiveness of the compulsive masturbator.

Seriously?! Author Charles McGrath couldn’t come up with a better opening line that something that is clearly derogatory, insulting, condescending and perhaps worst of all, uninformed?

Premise 1: In order to be a sex writer, your color must be bad.

Premise 2: In order to be a sex writer, you cannot have good eye contact.

Premise 3: In order to be a sex writer, you must be a compulsive masturbator.

Premise 4: Being a compulsive masturbator is bad.

Premise 5: Being a compulsive masturbator makes you look at everything with sidelong, furtive glances.


Oh, the sidelong, furtive glance! There is it!

The amount of anger and disappointment I feel over something like this bypassing any editorial stopgaps and actually being published is immeasurable for the moment. So, in the meantime, I say let’s compile a group of sex-writers, erotica-penners, smut-peddlers who have color in their faces and directness in their gazes. If you post a blog with a photo (or even a reaction to this post/the article), let me know and I’ll add the link below.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

For Your Viewing Pleasure: The Mad Scientists of Smut!

***

