If you read my earlier post, you already know that 2012 will be my year of yes. But I got all verbose and put on my pretty language (as I’m wont to do) and then realized that I should probably get out the analytical brain for a while and outline what some of those yes things will be for me. So here goes* (*offer subject to change without notice; void where prohibited; your mileage may vary):

WRITING:

  • For at least the first part of the year, I’ll be hosting and participating in more regular write-ins at Case Study and other places around Portland. These are great events where you write for 45 minutes and then talk to fellow writers for 15 minutes. Rinse, repeat. Sometimes the conversation is about writing and craft, other times it’s about geekery, sometimes it’s just meeting great and interesting people. If you’d like to be informed about these, the best way is to come and find me on G+ and let me know you’d like to be part of my Portland Writer Peeps Circle.
  • I’ll be teaching new and different things. The first one is my “How Not To Accidentally Break Your Writing Career” series. Actually, its official name is Social Networking for Writers. Kind of the same thing — how to give readings, hobnob at writer’s events, build your blog, those kinds of business and personal type writing things. After that, I have an erotica class. And after that, my blackboard is still being drawn upon! I hope you’ll come and join me.
  • I’ve started a thing-a-day project over at a fantastic site called CowBird. The project is “Body of Work” and will feature a photo of some part of me (self-portrait, shot by friends, maybe a stranger on the street) accompanied by a short bit of writing (poem, sentence, flash fiction, grocery list). I’m interested in capturing an entire year in these smalls flashes of insight, these bits of images and words. I’m also interested in exploring the body (especially the 40 year-old-body that I live in) in a detailed, yet completely spontaneous way. And to see how that makes me feel, how it makes others feel, and how the process changes me (or doesn’t) over the year. You can find it here if you’d like to follow along. [UPDATE: I’ve also started a WordPress blog for this, so you can follow along if you’re interested! It’s here.]
  • I don’t know yet what the new year will bring in terms of actual writing. I’m guessing (hoping) that it will bring a little of everything. My main goal is to make more time for it in my life, to stay inspired and productive, and to keep the work as a priority for me in the midst of everything. I want to push myself, to try new things, to screw with form and genre and language and to create things that surprise myself (and hopefully you).

NOT-WRITING:

  • I turn 40 in April. I am excited for 40. Delighted. Anticipating.
  • I have wanderlust. What does this mean and where will it take me? I have no idea. I hope everywhere, to lots of places.
  • I have home-base lust. This doesn’t go well with the above, but I’m determined to find a way to have both. I can have it all. I can.
  • My life is filled with amazing, incredible, inspiring, supportive, brilliant, creative people. I want to continue to be part of their lives, to tell them actively and regularly how awesome they are and how much they mean to me.
  • I want to keep learning and doing and growing, to be curious and interested in the things that come my way. I want to be wholly me, in every way possible.

If you’ve come along with me on past years, you know that I always have a yearly plan. The Year of the Books is how this blog began so long ago. Chapter 37. Chapter 38. Always something. I’m a planner, a dreamer, a reacher. Even though I know that I won’t always succeed in everything I set out to do, I know that I’ll accomplish some of it. The things I really want and am willing to work for.

So this year? Here’s the thing: This year, I’ve got nothing. No plan. I don’t know where I’m going or how I’ll get there. I can’t even begin to imagine what will happen along the way.

What I do know is: I’ve got a hot pair of boots and a cozy hat. I’ve got the world’s most awesome friends and a head full of words. I’ve got a map that may or may not be of this world, and a pocket to put it in. I’ve got my selkie skin and my fey heart and my snow-queen gaze. I’ve got my year of yes and my rock-throwing arm and pretty goddamn good aim.

And I’ve got you.

I’m good.

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

~

